Teaching Awards


The RWTH Aachen Faculty of Medicine has been successfully involved multiple times in calls for teaching awards in the past ten years. Most of the winning projects are from the "Modellstudiengang Medizin" (Model degree program of medicine). Dentistry is represented as well though. Many of the projects were first funded by money from the innovative teaching projects or the Tuition Fee Replacement/Quality Improvement Funds.


RWTH Lecturers


Sopka, Sasa, Dr. med. - Department of Anaesthesiology

Haubrich, Christina, PD Dr. med. - Department of Neurology


Baumann, Martin, apl.Dr. rer. nat. Dipl.-Ing. - Chair of Applied Medical Technology (AME)

Beckers, Stefan, Priv.-Doz. Dr. med - Chair of Anaesthesiology

Claßen-Linke, Irmgard, apl. Prof. Dr.rer.nat.- Chair of Molecular and Cellular Anatomy (MOCA)

Neuner, Irene, PD Dr. med. - Chair of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy, and Psychosomatics



RWTH Teaching Award

The RWTH Teaching Prize is awarded once a year. Since 2007, three prizes, first through third place, have been awarded that are endowed with 6000 to 9000 euros. The Faculty of Medicine has won the following prizes. (Overview of Award Winners):


1st place – Anamnesis Groups

2nd place – Associate Professor Dr. rer. nat. Martin Baumann


2nd place – "Restructuring of Phantom Course II“ in the Dentistry Course of Study


1st place – emedia Skills Lab Neurology


2010 2nd place – Topo Skill Course "Feel like a Surgeon“

1st place – Rescue Service Practical for Medical Students


2nd place – Web-based Macroscopy and Histology

(http://www.pathocast.blip.tv/ )


1st place – Interdisciplinary Skills Lab / AIXTRA



Aachen Model Course of Study Orientation Weeks


GMA Prize for Young Teachers

I. Quality of Teaching: Skill Orientation / Practical Relevance / Student Centered Teaching and Learning Methods / Regular and Good Evaluation Results / Research Relevance

2011 Award Winners: Variety of Methods in Total Prosthetics – Curricular Possibilities for a Clinically Oriented Pre-Clinical Course, Dr. med. dent. Nicole Rafai, MPH, MME

II. Sustainability and Innovation: Impulses beyond One's Own Course into the Subject/University and Transferability to Other Teachers/Subjects/Universities/Development and Implementation of New Teaching and Learning Methods/ Scientific Ranking/ Project Publication

2009 Award Winners: "From Course to Curriculum" Curricular Effects of the Implementation of an Interdisciplinary Skills Lab, PD Dr. Stefan Beckers, MME, Dr. Sasa Sopka, Frau apl. Prof. Dr. Irmgard Claßen-Linke, Dr. Michaela Weishoff-Houben www.aixtra.rwth-aachen.de


Dental Education Award

The Dental Eucation Award is awarded under the patronage of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Zahn-Mund-Kieferheilkunde (DGZMK). The annually awarded prize is endowed by the Kurt Kaltenbach Stiftung. The program was founded in 2006 with the goal of promoting dental education in Germany. The prize is awarded for outstanding work in university dental education.

2011- 2nd place: Diversity of Methods in Total Prosthetics – Curricular Possibilities for a Clinically Oriented Pre-Clinical Course, Dr. med. dent. Nicole Rafai, MPH, MME

2013 - 1st place: "Anatomy meets Dentistry", Prof. Dr. med. I. Claßen Linke and Dr. med. dent. N. Rafai, MME. This is endowed iwth 8000 euros.

2013 - 3rd place: "Development of the "XXXX-Checklist" for the Evaluation of Students in the Implementation of a Pre-Operation Discussion", Dr. med. dent. N. Rafai, MME . This is endowed with 1000 euros.


2013 Ars Legendi Prize in Medicine

The Award for Excellent Teaching in University Medicine was awarded this year to Dr. Stefan Beckers and Dr. Saša Sopka from the RWTH Aachen Faculty of Medicine. More Information


Award from the Hartmannbund for Education at Faculties of Medicine

Dean of Studies Prof. Dr. Dott accepts the certificate Dean of Studies Prof. Dr. Dott accepts the certificate

The Aachen model course of stduy in medince won the Hartmannbundes Award for Education at Faculties of Medicine in 2009. The prize was awarded to Aachen for its innovative, interdisciplinary teaching concept without an artificial separation between preclinical and clinical. Furthermore, the consistent practice management (AIXTRA was mentioned here), POL lessons held in small groups, the evaluation of courses, good structure for the practical year, and the preparation of students for the exam and the mentoring concept with the class cohort coordinators were also named.

The award encourages us to continue on this path and strive to improve the good concept.